Running Recap and Things to do in Florida


Running in Florida is awful. Honestly the temperature and humidity is the same as Missouri but the difference is that in Florida the temperature seems to stay the same from morning until night. Whereas in Missouri it’s cooler in the morning and sometimes cooler at night than during the day.

Let’s just say my times were not good and it was miserable to whole two weeks to run.

runningrecap

(click to enlarge)

The black boxes show the first and last day of running in Florida.

 

Things we did in Florida

Walked the beach collecting shells
Watched the sunset
Swam in the Ocean
Went fishing twice (I caught 6 blue runners and 2 groupers in total but all were thrown back in)
Went to the Prime Outlet mall in Ellenton (bought a pair of nike shorts and a KU book for my dad for father’s day)
Visited Fit2Run (aka the biggest running store I’ve ever been to)
At Fit2Run, found out I need to run in a support shoe
Built a really awesome sandcastle
IMG_8257

IMG_8270

IMG_8271 IMG_8275

IMG_8276

IMG_8277

TA DA!

IMG_8281

Took Pictures on the beach
IMG_8318

IMG_8327

IMG_8332

IMG_8333

IMG_8346

Played Scrabble (I won)

IMG_8377

IMG_8376

Played Farkle (alex won)

IMAG0041
Applied lots and lots of sunscreen

P6090005

HAHAHAHA

Visited St Armands Circle and shopped
Bought these shoes (Sanuk Plain Jane’s)
image

 

Edit to last post:

We also ate at the Beach House

I ate this:

IMG_8371

and shared this:

IMG_8372

Both incredible!!!!

That was just a few of the things we did. We had so much fun and it was truly a great time!!

sig

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ashlei
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 18:31:01

    I love the outlets in Ellenton!! And the beaches. A couple of the only things I miss about Tampa. Not the weather though 😉 Definitely never changes…always hot. You and the boy on the beach look so cute…matching clothes and all too! lol

    Reply

  2. Matt
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 18:45:01

    Lol what is farkle?

    Reply

  3. kelsey@snackingsquirrel.com
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 19:15:56

    you two are too cute!!! i wish i was there soaking up some sun right about now!! wow and sharing that dessert- HOLY YUM! that thing was ginormously yummy 🙂

    xoxo ❤

    Reply

  4. marathonmaiden
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 20:44:06

    you are a sandcastle expert 🙂

    Reply

  5. Bela
    Jun 21, 2010 @ 21:26:34

    Looks like you are having a blast!

    Reply

  6. jeri
    Jun 22, 2010 @ 13:10:41

    love the sanuk’s. I’ve always wanted a pair. CUTE pics. Looks like you had a great time. 🙂

    Reply

  7. lellaliveslearns
    Jun 23, 2010 @ 22:25:12

    hahahaa I love this! I LIVE in FL! The only nice time to run is in nov/dec. You are right, it is HOT in the morning HOTTER in the afternoon and back to HOT at night. I feel like i’m a super slow runner….I cant wait to go to a different state and see how it goes! Just like I love my hair a lot more in a different state…Your sand castle is awesome! I’ve never heard of fit2run…hmmmm

    Reply

  8. runandrant
    Jun 30, 2011 @ 11:00:14

    I live in South Florida, so I can attest to the humidity and heat issue. You are absolutely right, it is just brutal no matter what time you go out for a run in the summer. I move my runs to the early morning. While it’s still super humid, at least the glaring sun isnt beating me up as badly.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

