Good and Bad News


Challenge

I forgot to add in my post about my challenge yesterday. So here it is!

Water: 24 oz water, 32 oz powerade, 8 oz gatorade, 16 oz orange juice
Core: 100 cent core again
Stretching: Alex helped me with my stretches. We did ankles and hamstrings. I have pictures from the ankles where we used therabands.

P3230016

Flex forward

P3230019

Flex to the side

P3230017

Flex to the other side (I like alex’s face hahaha)

P3230021

Flex away

Icing: I then iced using my Ice Up. LOVE this! Except our dorm freezer doesn’t freeze it very well. 😦

P3230008

I also refueled after my run with this

P3230015

And a nuts about chocolate luna bar

This morning

Unfortunately I did not get the RA job I was really hoping for. But my friend Lanie said that of the 7 people she knew that applied, only 1 got a position. Apparently there were 80 of us new comers and 70 RA’s that were returning and only 90 RA positions available. So it was a slim pickin’s. I’ll try again next year and just have to look at the positives from this.

Positive: I’ll be able to celebrate my birthday at home
Positive: I’ll be able to focus on my studies and running
Positive: Will have more summer time at home

Of course there are many negatives to not getting the position, but we won’t focus on those!!

Breakfast

P3230022

Same as yesterday. Whole wheat bagel with peanut butter and chocolate chips.

Just look at the yumminess!

P3230028

Lunch

P3240029

Corn dog and cheese tots.

Running

Had 6 miles to run. My friend Megan ran 3 miles with me. We ran really slow and easy because she is recovering from an injury. Then the last 3 I ran solo.

6 miles in 53:37 @ 8:56 pace

Mileage Time
mile 1 9:25
mile 2 9:36
mile 3 9:43
mile 4 8:20
mile 5 8:28
mile 6 8:02

I then iced my legs afterwards.

Dinner

IMAG0120

chicken sandwich, cheese tots and cheese sauce for my sandwich. Yeah how healthy huh?  But yummy and full of carbs!

News

So I will be going to Disney World for the first time!!  Anyone have any suggestions on what we must do? I’m going with my parents and brother. It’s going to be so much fun!!

Q&A

Q: What are some of your favorite books?

Q: What are some books you hope to read soon?

Q: Do you prefer running/working out alone or with someone?

sig

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ashlei
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 18:27:55

    Disney World for the first time??? Oh my gosh, that place is heaven! Are you going to all the parks?

    My favorites that I can think of right now:

    Magic Kingdom: Big Thunder Mountain, Splash Mountain (if you don’t mind water rides), Space Mountain

    Hollywood Studios: Tower of Terror, Rock N Roller Coaster, and there’s a show there that’s really good that I can’t remember the life of…something about racing or cars or something.

    Epcot: Test Track

    Animal Kingdom: Mount Everest, and the safari ride is cool (I think it’s called Kilamanjaro Safari??)

    I know there are tons of others I just can’t think of right now.

    Hope that helps! 😀 Favorites books are any by Dan Brown, as well as the Harry Potter series! I love them! And I usually prefer working out alone so I can go at my own pace, but I like doing group classes too like spinning ❤

    Reply

  2. genesis
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 18:58:03

    books – kite runner, thousand splendid suns, time travelers wife, angels and demons, the da vinci code…so many more…

    hope to read soon – not sure i usually just read what my bff refers to me

    since ive never worked out with someone other than myself, it would be a nice change up to have someone there with me.

    disney world…well we only had time to go to epcot and we liked it….next time we’ll see all the parks….im sure youll have a blast even if its not planned.

    Reply

  3. marathonmaiden
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 19:01:18

    my dorm freezer isn’t that great either. so my ice packs are always like slushy haha!

    i love sci-fi and detective/mystery books (michael crichton, james patterson, lisa jackson etc). i wish i had more time to read during the semester though!

    Reply

  4. Rebecca
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 19:15:01

    wow your one fit girlie keep up the good work

    Reply

  5. The Candid RD
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 19:19:36

    I prefer running with someone, and walking with someone. UNLESS I’m in one of those moods where I just want to be alone. Then I obviously prefer being alone. When I have a partner the runs usually go so much faster! So…they are more fun 🙂

    Reply

  6. Jeri
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 20:01:37

    omg I’m so jealous you’re going to disney world! I’ve wanted to go forever! :p I like to run w/someone when I’m doing easy runs, but running solo for LRs or tempo runs/speedwork. I don’t want to feel obligated to run someone else’s pace or make them slow down.

    Reply

  7. Shannon (The Daily Balance)
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 20:05:53

    i am a huge book worm! i have a few fave authors you should check out, though!

    fun: jane green, emily griffin, jennifer wiener

    serious: barbara kingsolver, sue monk kidd, jodi picoult

    Reply

  8. eatmovelove
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 20:33:47

    Love your blog! Found it through Traceys’!
    I love how you focus on the positives and not the negatives….I definitely need to do that more :(….like right now, wondering why I ate a whole pizza right before bed….wait – where’s the positive though ! :0

    Oye.
    I LOVE books and LOVE to write. I love chick-lit to more serious, or “self-help” – even though they never help me :(….favorites?? – Huck Finn, Lord of the Rings series, Shopoholics series (!), Living your yoga…..

    And I have SO MANY books to read here now that I don’t know where to begin!! Seriously I pick one up and then think I should start another ! HELP!! Right now – I have “The Secret of Letting Go” by Guy Finley….and a chick-flicky “How to be cool” by Johanna Edwards 😉

    Reply

  9. learningtocookeatandenjoydeliciousfood
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 21:09:43

    Books that I am loving right now – Jodi Picoult’s Books, Emily Griffith’s Books, these two authors write great books that are a fun read and I read all of their books last summer!!
    Disney World – I have been a few times but the last time I went I was 11 and I dont remember much of it, but I do remember that the FOOD was good and that you have to go to Epcot, it is SO much fun!! 🙂

    Reply

  10. whydeprive
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 22:04:17

    Ive been to Disneyland, but never Disney World!

    My all time favorite book is “Stupid and Contagious” by Caprice Crane. Its HILARIOUS!!
    Im a big fan of chick lit – its just so easy to read. So Sophie Kinsella, and Emily Giffin can do no wrong in my eyes!

    As far as working out goes, I prefer to workout alone. But I run with my dog, does that count? Without her I get lonely and its just not as fun.

    Reply

  11. Swanky Dietitian
    Mar 24, 2010 @ 22:44:08

    Thanks again for stopping by my blog!
    Love the combo of pb and chocolate chips. I need to buy some chips just to add a bit of sweet. yum!
    I have never been to Disneyworld but LOVE Disneyland! I would definitely say Matterhorn (sp?) is one you can’t miss.

    Reply

  12. Shelley (findinghappinessandhealth)
    Mar 25, 2010 @ 09:07:54

    sorry about not getting the RA job… but honestly, you will have a great year without it 🙂 alex is so sweet to help you stretch!!

    xoxo
    shelley

    http://findinghappinessandhealth.wordpress.com

    Reply

  13. Julie
    Mar 25, 2010 @ 11:04:09

    Hi there,
    Thanks for commenting on my blog:) Boy, I just looked at your PRs! Girl, you are speedy:) BTW: your breakfast looks yummy!

    Reply

  14. Naomi (onefitfoodie)
    Mar 25, 2010 @ 11:39:19

    corndogs…never had one if you can believe it!

    sorry you didnt get the RA job you applied for, but I LOVE how you showed the postitives of it!!

    Reply

  15. sarah (the SHU box)
    Mar 25, 2010 @ 12:33:56

    i applied to be an RA, got it, and hated the whole year! so maybe it’s a blessing in disguise 🙂

    disney will be so fun! esp with the whole family. yay!

    books: my favorite is middlesex by jeffrey eugenides. for nonfiction, i’m just staring the happiness project by gretchen rubin. i also loved eat pray love — and anything by haruki murakami!

    Reply

  16. Sammi
    Mar 25, 2010 @ 12:59:56

    My sisters were both RAs and they hated it. So maybe this is for the best? Of course, there are the good parts of being an RA, but from what they’ve told me, it wasn’t worth how mean the residents were to them.

    Books: My favorite series at the moment is the vampire academy books. I also read the “private” and “privileged” series (one is a spin off of the other). I read Dear John though and it was AMAZING. I cried my eyes out! I do want to read more books by Nicholas Sparks.

    I definitely prefer working out with others. That’s part of the reason I’m so excited to go off to a university this fall! Hopefully I can meet some people that like running as much as I do!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

