Challenge


New Challenge!!!

Okay so if you’ve been reading, you know that for lunch and dinner I eat a lot of chicken strips and cheesy tots. Well that is going to change!!! I cannot guarantee they won’t show up at least once a day ha, but I’m going to try and eat different food for now.

Today is a good day to start the challenge because Towers (our campus cafeteria) has Premium Night and that means there actually might be some good food! :crosses fingers:

Obviously you know what I had for dinner last night, do I even need to show you? Didn’t think so.

This morning I had a whole wheat bagel with peanut butter, but was rushed so no picture 😦

Yesterday I had a six miler planned with my friend Megan. Low and behold calculations were wrong so we ended up going 6.3 miles. But that’s okay right? Better more than not enough!

Here’s the stats:

mile 1: 9:37
mile 2: 9:26
mile 3: 9:14
mile 4: 9:15
mile 5: 9:16
mile 6: 9:04
mile 6.3: 2:30

We got to talking the whole run because it was not neccessary to go fast as it was my midweek long run.

Today’s run is a 4 miler.

Moving on! For my Sports Nutrition class we had to create a brochure/handout for athletes explaining why carbs are essential. It was supposed to include:

1. 10 foods from each of the food group that were a good source of carbs

2. 10 ideas for meal plans

3. an area to calculate how many carbs are neccessary for each person. Basically an area to personalize carb intakes for anyone who is curious.

I plan on posting the handout in case anyone would like to see it. However I don’t want to post it until it’s been graded! Just to make sure it’s legit. Since I am by all means not a registered dietition….yet.

Can you tell I’ve finally found the colors and more buttons to make my posts more fun? 🙂

Hope everyone has a great day!! I will be reading!


5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. sophia
    Feb 04, 2010 @ 21:08:46

    Oh, good! Love that they are actually saying that you NEED carbs…I’m rather sick of all these high-protein but low-carb diets going on around me! Would love to see the handout!

    Reply

  2. Megan
    Feb 05, 2010 @ 02:14:25

    Carbs are by far my favorite food group!!!

    Reply

  3. healthyquirks
    Feb 08, 2010 @ 01:32:04

    Yay for carbs! I’m very curious to see how much people should eat because it’s so ingrained to eat as little as possible, yet I know most of what I eat is carbs. I can’t wait to see the finished product!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

